Everyone has one…I think

Whether you realize it or not, you have one.

­­­­­Everyone has one I’m not the only one. My best friend has one. It may take you a while to realize what yours is, or what it means to you.

I’m talking about your life song. That’s what my best friend calls it, at least.

I’m talking about that one song that you can always count on to bring you back up or inspire you. It can be a cheesy thing to think about, sure, but I bet if you think about it enough you have a song that does it for you every time.

As you’re reading this, be thinking about what you’re life song is. I expect to receive an answer at the end of this.

I’ll tell you mine, first.

It’s a John Mayer song off of the Continuum album. It was the very last track he cut for the record. It was the song that he wrote and recorded in 18 hours. It’s called “In Repair.”

The following lyric pretty well sums up exactly why I love this song so much.

I’m in repair

I’m not together

But I’m getting there

What a lyric.

The way that I look at it is somewhat simple. I realize that I am never going to be perfect. My life is not going to be perfect, either. I figure that if I try to make myself a better person each and every day, and strive for self-improvement I am doing a good job. I know that times are going to be tough, but I have to overcome it. Life is full of mistakes, and I want my life to be about bouncing back from the mistakes more so than the mistakes themselves.

The third verse is also one that I take to heart. I take it as that final step once you have tried to improve yourself.  You kind of want to see what everyone else thinks, and hopefully, now, it’s in a good light.

And now I’m walking in a park

All of the birds they dance below me

Maybe when things turn green again

It will be good to say you know me

One of my favorite things about John Mayer’s songwriting style is that he can make being broken sound utterly beautiful.  I think we can all agree that there is a better version of us than the one we’re dealing with right now.

Here is John talking about, and actually writing the song during the taping for some exclusive material for the release of Continuum.

John says that we never appreciate that moment where we’re on top because it’s never really there. He wrote the song about always being “In Repair” and building back up again.

Regardless of breakups, heartaches, and mess-ups anyone can sing the last line of this song and feel as if a good change is in the next breeze.

Now, since I said it was going to happen earlier…what is your life song?

 

 

About Hunter Patterson

I am a young professional in the news industry trying to make it in this world. I work weird hours and surround myself with people I truly care about. I have a super cool cat and make really good grilled cheeses.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Everyone has one…I think

  1. yeahitsmine says:

    Oh John Mayer! He could probably write out a life song for every person in this class. He’s crazy talented and you’re pulling the emotional heart strings of every person in here with this blog. Hmm.. When I think of my life song I think of Green Day..I hope you have the time of your life.. But that is today, tomorrow it could be a different song.:)

  2. chaffinmm says:

    Thanks for helping me write this comment. I have so many songs that I listen to all the time, it’s hard to pick only one life song. Top played song on my iTunes is Lifehouse Crazy for This Girl. I am such a Lifehouse sucker, I love everything they have. Crazy for This Girl, duh I want someone to feel that way about me, who doesn’t? However, I am currently obsessed with Miranda Lamber’s song Only Prettier. It is hilarious and oh so true. Of course, both these songs reflect my personality perfectly. Yeah I have a natural edge and put on a hard front, but can be a typical girl and love everything about being in love.

    • I like your edge. So I won’t complain about it. And I don’t blame you for being a Lifehouse sucker, I used to be. Around the same time I got on a really big Live kick. Check out their song Dolphin’s Cry. It’s soooo good.

  3. Rachel Hacker says:

    I really like how you started this post, I was reading and thinking, “What is he talking about?!” I don’t know what my life song would be. It would probably be by Lil’ Wayne. Just kidding-it probably would not be 🙂

    • I like to be as mysterious as I can, ha. Glad it worked. This may sound weird, but I can do a really good Lil Wayne impression if I’m in the right mood. In my own personal opinion, it’s pretty hysterical.

  4. My two favorite songs are from my favorite band. ALTER BRIDGE. They are Black Bird and Wonderful life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yz_j7nVCJJ0 this is black bird

    and this is wonderful life http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn1RwwcfqJ4

  5. spintogirl1 says:

    I really liked this post. A song that always seems to lift my spirits is called “Todo ira bien” (everything will be fine) by Chenoa.

Leave a Reply

