Dear God, You’re weird

If you saw me last Thursday you probably noticed that I looked like I had been run over by a train. Truth is, that’s what I felt like, too.

Last Wednesday I wrote an entry with little to no hope that anything would come from it. Boy, was I wrong.

About an hour after I published it I got an email telling me that I had a comment. I read the name, Brandi, and nearly lost it.

What one has to understand is that Brandi was who the entry was about. Oh, and the fact that Brandi was not merely just a friend, but a family member.

So you don’t have to go searching, here is the comment:

I have followed your writings for sometime time now but I have been too ashamed to contact you. Your letter meant the world to me! I am sorry for all its worth, I never knew. Your writings have inspired me to continue to press forward. I have so much more to say but I will wait until I see you in person. I love you Hunter

I’ll be honest with you. I lost it. I cried for hours. I did not know how to handle myself.

I didn’t know Brandi even had computer access where she was, much less reading the blogs that I had been posting.

God works in such weird ways. It’s so hard for me to understand most of the time. He is just so bigger than me, bigger than everyone, bigger than everything around.

He really did some work on me Thursday morning. So much that I am struggling to put into words exactly how things went that day with me.

God works in strange ways. Brandi’s reply to me definitely opened my eyes last week. I automatically wanted to tell everyone what God was doing in my life. It was so great telling someone about what He is doing in my life and tearing up.

I wouldn’t trade that feeling for anything else.

How is God working in your life?

About Hunter Patterson

I am a young professional in the news industry trying to make it in this world. I work weird hours and surround myself with people I truly care about. I have a super cool cat and make really good grilled cheeses.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dear God, You’re weird

  1. God does work in mysterious ways. If he did not people would be able to predict God and know what to expect. But that is not how God wants to be. He loves to work in ways that make you go wow! where did that come from? That is one of his many ways to let people know that he is alive and working in peoples lives.

    • True that. I love the story about Peter in Acts 12 where the angel rescues him from prison. Peter, one of the most faithful people ever to walk the earth didn’t even believe what was going on. God is so awesome and so powerful. He has no limits. What a boss.

  2. Bracey says:

    Sometimes forgiving can take awhile…a great reason to have patience with people

  3. Thank you for being so personal in your writings. It adds a level of depth to your blog that I haven’t seen anywhere else.

    God is so good! He is omnipotent and omnipresent! He knows just what we need and when we need it! God is working in my life on a daily basis – through little situations and big ones. I am thankful to be here, at a Christian college, where we can be honest with each other and talk about what is going on spiritually in our lives.

  4. Brandi says:

    GOD is good!!! I thank him everyday for allowing me to learn from the negative in my life and overcome my past by turning it into something positive and life changing.

Leave a Reply

