Don’t sweat the small stuff

How much of your precious energy and time are you wasting on the small stuff? My answer to that question is a lot.

Your neighbor passes you by, and doesn’t look your direction. You forget your iPod and don’t have it for the day. Or, you are in the checkout line and it is 15 items or less, and the lady in front of you has at least 25.

Take back some of that energy that you have and let those things go. Just go with the flow. Spend your time putting energy towards the important things in your life and take it easy on yourself and others.

Sometimes, it is just appropriate to go big. Change is essential nowadays. If we do not change with the world, the world will pass us by. The small stuff still weighs us down, though.

That is why we have to fill in the big rocks first.

Now you’re probably thinking, “What the heck is he talking about now?”

I’ll explain.

I was at a meeting last week and the speaker, Linda Peek Schacht, said that in this life we must fill in the big rocks first.

Trust me, I was as lost as you are right now.

Picture a large bowl. Now, the big rocks in the bowl would be things like a college degree, a good job and a family. That is what we must fill in the first. The small things will come next. Those would be considered to be the sand and the gravel, if you will.

As a college student, I have a lot to worry about both big and small. What I should be worrying about is reading the next chapter in my textbook for my test tomorrow. However, I’m worried about the next word that I’m going to play in Words With Friends.

Anyone know a seven-letter word ending in EZ?

Emotionally pure people don’t sweat the small stuff. There are always going to be difficult things and difficult people in our lives. So, just sit back, take a deep breath and let all the troubles go away.

That didn’t work? Ah, well it did in middle school.

I’m all out of ideas now, so maybe the Word can help me out.

Phillipians 1:27 “Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ.”

What the Word is saying is that no matter what happens in our lives, God is still on the throne.

Romans 8:28 goes on to say, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,who have been called according to his purpose.”

Sometimes, though, when I look at how I act and how other Christians act I cannot help but wonder if we really do know.

We have to know that God is not just sitting around doing nothing. We have to know that he is at work in our lives.

Think about what you are going through at the moment, God is working on it. He’s at work in all things.

Then we ask, “What is he working for?” He is not at work to hurt you or to bring you down. It is important to realize that the word does not say that all things are good, but that he is at working towards good.

Think about who that one person is that drives you crazy. God has it covered. He is working towards that. He is working towards your good. It is our responsibility as Christians to know that.

I am not talking about just knowing it like a trivia question. It has to be a discipline.

It’s almost like the difference between just saying, “I love you” and actually loving someone. I can open up my mouth and say that to anyone I want to. However, – forgive me for using a cliché – love is an action verb. Love is how we act towards someone, not just saying it.

It’s the same way with knowing that God is in it for us. We’re not supposed to just know it; we have to act that way as well.

As the Word says and Chris Tomlin sings, “And if our God is for us, then who could ever stop us?”

What are the small things that you worry about? What could you improve on day to day to make things easier on yourself?

 

About Hunter Patterson

I am a young professional in the news industry trying to make it in this world. I work weird hours and surround myself with people I truly care about. I have a super cool cat and make really good grilled cheeses.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t sweat the small stuff

  1. Amelia says:

    Hunter,
    This post is amazing. It really help me put my day into perspective and reminded me not to sweat the small stuff. Thanks a million! Indeed, God is good! Oh, and I have that album! It’s real good; Quite a big fan of Chris Tomlin, myself. I love how his songs are so personal about his relationship with God. Thanks for the reminder that God’s working out good things for those who love him. It’s amazing how much patience and Love, He has.

    Have a blessed day! 🙂

  2. Jeremy Keck says:

    I can certainly relate to this post. I sweat the small things in life way too much and sometimes a couple of the “big rocks” get left out. Unfortunately I can’t think of a word that ends in “EZ” so sorry.

  3. juless12 says:

    This post really hits home. I am definitely one of those people that worries about the insignificant problems in life way too much. I love the way it is written as well. It really held my interest the whole way through, and the interjections such as “anyone know a 7 letter word that ends in EZ,,” made it that much more interesting to read. Great job on your blog, it was really a great one for me to read today!

  4. Great advice, Hunter, especially for someone who sweats the small stuff all the time. Life would be a lot easier if someone of us learned to just go with it and trust God.

  5. It is easy to think and question if God is really working in your life during rough, confusing times. So, it is good to have a reminder from scripture or a loved one that He really is watching over you and your life, and He is on the throne protecting you.

  6. coopertorrez says:

    H-Patt, you’re the man. The end.

Leave a Reply

