Number 2: What’s this all about?

I went on a hike a few years ago. I went alone; I had an overnight pack.

I walked way too far that day. I was exhausted, slept sporadically in the woods that night. I was miserable — bugs, noises, all that stuff kept me up most of the night.

When I got up that morning it was time to hike out of there, go back to my world. I had to find my truck.

I had about three or four hours of hike left to go.

So I was walking down this trail, just me. And I was kind of having it out with God.

What I was saying was that I was admitting to God that I was a fraud.

I said to God, “God, if I can’t be a more authentic Christian than I am, I want you to take my salvation away.”

“I want you to send me to hell.”

The trail lit around me.

Hah

God descended upon me. Really.

I felt this blanket come over me. I heard these words spoken on my heart from God:

“I will never let you go.”

I was on The Trail. I found the Crossing on the trail that lead to somewhere beautiful.

Whatever you may experience during that journey, take it for what it is and build on it. Don’t give up on an idea.

Allow God to speak to you through his beauty. Don’t be afraid to let him in.

Job 12:22 “He reveals the deep things of darkness and brings deep shadows into the light.”

Psalm 119:105 “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”

Cross paths with God. Today.


About Hunter Patterson

I am a young professional in the news industry trying to make it in this world. I work weird hours and surround myself with people I truly care about. I have a super cool cat and make really good grilled cheeses.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Number 2: What’s this all about?

  1. marian says:

    Great job Hunter. Can’t wait to read more. Can I use your dot analogy with my class if I give you credit??

  2. I love Backpacking its one of my favorite thing to do in the world!!!!! And just the things i have experienced out in the wild are just incredible!!!!!!!!!

  3. Hey Hunter,

    I love your post. It’s a great story. It was really easy to read. I especially like the message.

  4. Jeremy Keck says:

    Wow, what an interesting story! I’ve never really been backpacking or anything before, I’m not very “outdoorsy.” God is good all the time, and all the time God is good.

  5. Rachel says:

    Hey this was wonderful and inspired me. I will be reading all your posts!

  6. This is a very powerful story and very well written and I feel that can speak to everyone with it’s meaning.

  7. Amelia says:

    This is an amazing story. It’s so true how we should let God speak to us and not be afraid to let Him in. I really enjoyed reading this post! Keep up the great work! Can’t wait to read more!

    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

