Preface: Be the Dot.

It’s called the crossing.

One life going this way.  Another life going that way.  They cross.

I’ll tell you a story about what happened a few months ago.

Unexpected events can occur at any given time.  Our lives collide with those around us in a seemingly random and disorganized manner, shaping our destinies.

What if the very fact that you were sitting there listening to every word that I say becomes proof that everything happens for a reason?  What would you change if you were always at the right place, at the right time?

A person’s car won’t start.  What do you do?

Do you help them?  Do you drive away?

A person is walking down the side of the road.

Do you pick them up?  Do you slow down, look at him and drive past?

I’ll tell you what I did.  I picked him up.

Now, fast forward about a month.  I wake up, middle of the night, 2 a.m., something like that.  He’s on my mind.  I can’t get him out of my thoughts.

I go to work that morning.  Soon as I sit down at the desk the phone rings.  It’s him.  A week later I’m meeting in an office with him and we are business partners.

Now, this isn’t random.  What are the chances of all those things coming together?  That’s just the beginning of it

Lives Converge.

Paths Cross.

The Crossing.

What does this have to do with you?

You, are the dot.

I am the dot.

What’s the dot?  The dot is your place on the map at any given moment.  There are tons of  dots around us.  It is your choice if you want to make an impact on another dot.  If you want to, you will.  It is your choice.

Will our paths cross?  If we allow them to, it will happen.  It could be by complete chance. We could work together one day.  We may have a class together.  We don’t know until we get to that point.  The Crossing.

Who will you cross paths with today?  Will you make an impact?  That, is your choice.

You may never know where the right place is, or what the right time is.  It could be now.  It may be tomorrow.  All that matters is that you accept it.

Be the Dot.

About Hunter Patterson

I am a young professional in the news industry trying to make it in this world. I work weird hours and surround myself with people I truly care about. I have a super cool cat and make really good grilled cheeses.
This entry was posted in Life. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preface: Be the Dot.

  1. bendedspoon says:

    i am a dot
    i always remember that
    i choose to make an impact
    no matter how small the act
    because i choose to be a blessing
    in each crossing with another dot
    there is no right time
    there is no right place
    in making a difference
    i can do it right now
    like saying what you wrote is a wow!
    🙂

  2. Megan Maxwell says:

    I really like how this post makes readers think. It is very cool how that random man has become a business partner. I think that God puts people in our lives for a reason, and we are here to be help and an impact on another dot.

Leave a Reply

